Leaders of political parties are expected to meet with the diplomatic community in January 10, 2023.

This was contained in a press release jointly signed by Amb. Gani Lawal, President, and Amb. Ridhwan Mustapha, Secretary-General, Association of Foreign Relations Professionals of Nigeria on Monday.

The meeting which will be hosted by the AFRPN is aimed at “deepening the understanding of the input-output system that has informed the Nigerian foreign policy options in the international arena.”

According to the press release, four political parties will be invited for the parley which will take place in Foreign Affairs Ministry.

It read in part, “Aware of the pivotal role party politics plays in the formulation, articulation and implementation of Nigeria’s Foreign Policy, the AFRPN, in line with its mandate to impact positively the foreign policy of Nigeria, has invited formally the leadership of four of the contending political parties for the office of the President to rub minds with the diplomatic community as a way of deepening the understanding of the input-output system that has informed the Nigerian foreign policy options in the international arena which has served the nation well to become a leading player in Africa and the World at large.

Related News

“The AFRPN is the foremost Nigerian diplomatic forum consisting of major stakeholders on Foreign Relations issues. Its membership spans across several institutions that deal with matters that transcend the frontiers of the nation’s borders such as serving and retired diplomatic staff and Ambassadors of Nigeria, Nigerian officials in international organisations and institutions that deal with foreign relations matters. Nigerians in the Diaspora, University professors, lecturers and students of International studies and political science, are also members of this association.

“The ‘Meet the Diplomatic Community’ parley will take place at the Rotunda of the Foreign Ministry at Balewa House, Federal Secretariat at 3p.m. on 10th of January, 2023. Our audience shall in addition to our members include the foreign envoys of all countries accredited to Nigeria. Each candidate will have 15 minutes to speak and 10 minutes to field questions.

“The chairman of the occasion is the pioneer VC of the Sokoto State University, former VC of the University of Abuja, Professor Nuhu Yaqub, OFR,  the recipient of the Global Award for Academic Excellence and pioneer President of the Society for International Relations Awareness; while the Moderator is Amb Dr. Boladei Godknows Igali, OON; former Nigerian Ambassador to the Scandinavian countries, retd., Fed Perm Sec and the Pro-Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure.

“The event is expected to attract a large audience with attendant rewarding  deliverables and takeaways.”