Monday, July 22, 2024

Latest Posts

#NigeriaElections2023: Lawan wins Yobe North Senate seat 

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, has won the senatorial election for Yobe North, in Yobe State.

The Senate president was formally declared the winner on Sunday night by the Independent National Electoral Commission which announced that Lawan polled 91,318 votes, representing 74.7 per cent of the total valid votes (122,193), to defeat his closest rival, Bello Ilu of the Peoples Democratic Party who polled 22,849 votes.

This is the seventh parliamentary election won consecutively by Lawan into the National Assembly since 1999, the first two of which gave him a ticket to the House of Representatives while the last five gave him a ticket to the Senate.

Related News

It would be recalled that Lawan lost to the PDP at his polling unit in Katuzu Primary School polling unit 001B,  Gashua, where he got 114 votes while the PDP senatorial candidate got 219, the New Nigeria Peoples Party got 11 votes, African Democratic Congress got a vote and five votes were recorded as invalid.

Also, in his polling unit,  the APC presidential candidate, Bola Tinubu got 107 votes, while PDP’s  Atiku Abubakar won with 186.

The PUNCH had reported that on Monday, February 6, 2023, that the Supreme Court in a judgement by a five-man panel, affirmed Lawan as the APC senatorial candidate for Yobe north in the stead of Bashir Machina who won the party ticket at the May 28, primary elections.

All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.